Introduction to Sri Vidya

I try to do the Khadgamala Stotram regularly and of late I have been fascinated with how the different Khadgamala Devis are placed on the Sri Chakra and the reasoning behind it. This lead me to two books on an introduction to Sri Vidya tradition. Both are not easy reads, infact they are heavy and sometimes too overwhelming. But it is a treasure trove for the really interested beginner Sri Vidya upasaka.

1) Auspicious Wisdom – Douglas Renfrew Brooks

2) The Goddess Lives in Upstate New York

 

AuspiciousWisdom GoddessNewYork

 

 

Also some of the excellent sources for more information are:

Sri RajaRajeshwari Temple, Rush, NY (which I visited recently, but more about that in another blog post)

Devipuram

9 Comments

Filed under Books, hindu, Interesting finds, Science, Tantra, veda, yoga

9 responses to “Introduction to Sri Vidya

  1. Hello Dhriti,
    I read with interest your short post on Sri Vidya. I am one of those who have absolutely no idea about it. Recently while watching the Sanskar channel I noticed a program by Avadhoot Baba Shivanandji about Shiv Yog. At the end of the program they described the courses that they offered, and one of them happened to be on Sri Vidya. Was just wondering whether you know anything about this course.
    Best wishes
    Anil.

  2. Hi Anil,
    I am a novice myself. I am not sure what is included in their course, but if you get a chance you should take it. Sri Vidya is wonderful path to reach Divine Mother and experience infinte bliss.

    • Naveen

      I have been blessed by Avadhoot Shivanandji who gave me the Shri Vidya Diksha.

      It is a wonderful course. Experience it yourself as i have no words to describe

  3. nin

    How can i find about this?

  4. Sim

    Please visit http://www.shivyog .com for all the requiste details.

  5. Dear Dhriti,

    I am thrilled to have come across your blog by coincidence. I could connect to so much of it and will be keenly returning to it. I have been going to the Rochester temple for a few years now and it is an interesting story of how Swami led me to Aiya… So many other teachers and experiences have come into my life since and you have covered and echoed much of that in your posts.

    Thanks for this wonderful collection and I look forward to reading more.

    Love…

  6. vikram bharadwaj

    how many times one should pronounce aim klim sauh sauh klim aim to attain desired material wishes

Leave a Reply

